Debut

Welcome to my blog. I’m S.M. Welles, author of Anticipation (book one of the Aigis trilogy). Call me S.M. or Miss Welles.

This blog is all about the books I write. I’ll be sharing my unique writing process, how I create and develop characters, and where their personalities and histories come from, etc., announcements for book signing events and whatnot as they come, and keep you informed on the progress of the book(s) I’m currently drafting. I will take the time to blog spoiler-free answers to any and all questions you post, and maybe even post preview writing samples, along with content that doesn’t make it into final drafts.

What’s happening right now:

This is actually a transformative stage in my writing. Life has been teaching me that I must fail many times before I learn how to succeed. What I’ve learned lately is that I need to change the title and the cover, nix the prologue, rethink my angle of approach when it comes to promoting my debut novel, and just plain get over my fear of failure. A second edition is underway, and with a really neat, simply cover. My ePublisher and I have drawn up a list of ideas to market Anticipation. Those ideas will be set into motion once the second edition is available. This means that the image under this blog’s title will change in the near future. I promise you’ll all like it.

A physical copy of the book is in the works as well, thanks to an independent house called Signalman Publishing. Their aid will open up so many doors (sorry for the cliche). Right now, I’ve been promoting my book one person at a time, be they friends, family, acquaintances I strike up random conversations with in publish, or people in the gaming universe I so much love being a part of. So terribly inefficient and insufficient, but I’ve learned from the experience.

Current writing/reading progress:

Hesitation (book two in the Aigis trilogy) has 23 chapters drafted at 111k words. Seven more chapters are slated to come. We’ll see if any go, or if more chapters crop up. I’ve learned much from completing a Master’s in Writing, and even more as I redraft book two, which is almost entire character-driven. Book one is more plot-driven, but hey, I was eighteen when I wrote it, and hadn’t discovered my love of reading until around age fifteen. I’m learning as fast as I can.

I am currently reading The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchette, and Vagina by Naomi Wolf.

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Debut

  1. Alexander Bednar says:

    i love the first book named “Aigis” very much. It is a very interesting book for fantasy lovers and I am looking forward for the next book in the series. I encourage everyone to try the book “Aigis”.

  2. Michael Huffman says:

    Great read!!! Awesome Fantasy world and great characters I suggest everyone get the book and read it. The journey begins on the first page!!!

  3. Dee says:

    I loved Aigis, was glad you told me about it!

    As an aside, I imagine a book named Vagina is a hard read on a bus. 🙂

  4. Simon Guajardo says:

    Agreed great book. The action parts really pull you in and its hard to stop reading in the middle of them. i would love to get my hands on a hard copy when its available

Leave a Reply

