Doing the Tourist Thing in Tombstone, Arizona

IMG_0453Overall it was a wonderful trip. We have to go back to see a few other things we missed, along with some more money to do more shopping. I saw so many great gift ideas that weren’t your standard t-shirt. My only mixed reviews revolve around guns themselves, since I still feel like I’m sitting in the wake of the Newtown shooting, which I used to live an hour away from. Now, in Tombstone’s defense, they didn’t glorify guns. And when we watched the reenactment of the infamous O.K. Corral shootout, one of the characters doubled as a narrator, pointing out how the shootout didn’t resolve or change a single thing that day. That reminder resonated with me.

Gosh flippin’ darn it! I left the USB cord to my cam corder back in Connecticut. I had many more photos and some video to share. At least I was able to procure a few extra shots from my cousin.

IMG_0474Anyway, Tombstone had a lot more to offer than anticipated. There are reenactments all over destination, which consists of several blocks of original and renovated structures, many places to eat and drink, horse-drawn carriages, a couple of theatrical performances, a reptile exhibit (which had tarantulas, too), a kid-friendly shooting gallery, historically informative tours, ghost hunting, and lots of little stores to shop in. And I mean lots. For the full scope click here. It’s free to park and walk around, but costs a few bucks here and a few bucks there for certain shows and tours.

IMG_0450The reenactment of the O.K. Corral shooting was… okay. The acting needed some work. Overall they were good, but the line delivery was agonizingly slow at times, like they were making sure they were about to say the correct thing. The audience itself was a little unenthusiastic, too, which I’m sure didn’t help. It reminded me of my Theatre days in undergrad where I learned that each audience has its own personality and energy. Some are wicked enthusiastic. Others leave you wondering if they’re alive anymore. Despite that, we followed two of the actors to The Crystal Saloon, where they performed foot-tapping songs while we ate a tasty lunch. Their songs were humorous, energetic, and entertaining.

IMG_0260After lunch we shopped around a bit, watched more reenactments performed on the streets, visited the reptile exhibit, which was full of almost exclusively native Arizona creatures. Simon tried using me as a human shield to protect him from the tarantula cages, while I could only think of the story about my brother where he had a tarantula crawling across his face while he was trying to sleep. The grey one was actually kind of neat but, I think, if it’d moved at all, I probably would’ve screamed like the girl I am.

IMG_0261I did walk into the Birdcage Theatre but I didn’t take the tour, which is one of the things I intend to do when I return. Next time I’ll be prepared for all the tour and attraction fees, which ranged from only 5-10 bucks apiece. And next time I’ll be prepared to give out tips to the actors, along with donations to other causes, including local animal shelters. One of the performers informed us that they’d helped raise money for other causes, like hurricane Katrina, so really, all money spent that day is money well spent.

The last event of the day was Helldorado Town, which was hands-down our favorite. Great show, great laughs, great actors. The one performance I highly recommend to anyone who stops by Tombstone. The cast worked amazingly well with and off each other, and their improv skills were top-notch. My only disappointment was that the show ran just half an hour. I could’ve watched them all day.

IMG_0478After all my hoping and waiting, I saw so many dust devils on the ride home. I also learned that they pop up and dissipate at the drop of a hat. My next goal is to stand in the path of one with a camcorder and get sandblasted. Yeah, I’m weird like that. When we finally get Brewski, (my roomie’s Springer Spaniel), I should be able to do that over in Tonopa. Should be fun.

One of my cousins flew in with my other cat Sweetpea, over the weekend, so I am finally reunited with both cats. Sweetpea is settling in and acting like herself already: cuddly, friendly, just chillaxin’, and trying to groom us all when we try to sleep. She’s hissing at Tilly a bit, though, who’s acting a bit wary of her, yet wants to be friends. She goes near Sweetpea, only to be hissed at now and then, but I’m not afraid of any fights. I’m already able to feed and pet them together. They probably have to get acclimated to each other’s scents and reestablish their territories. Annoying, yes, but this is how cats function. They’ve gotten along before. They’ll get along again.

IMG_0262Coming up, I hope to hike up all 7,000 feet of Mt. Graham, which I’m told houses seven ecosystems. The peak sits around 10,000 feet above sea level and has an observatory the public can pay to stargaze with. I just want to view the world from the peak of the Swift Trail, along work off my birthday cake, ice cream, and leftover frosting. Also coming up will be some fishing time on the Dankworth Pond for bass and such, once Simon gets a stinkin’ day off, which won’t be until July 4th, since the mine now has him in charge of preventing all the workers from getting electrocuted to death.

IMG_0264I have my Arizona license, which doesn’t expire until 2050 and only cost $25 to acquire. If I was still in Connecticut, not only would it have cost me $66, I’d have to renew it again in just six years. Laaaaaaame!

And one last bit of news: I invited the neighbors over for cake and ice cream for my birthday this past Thursday. It was very enjoyable and they even gave me cards and five bucks. I just wanted their company and conversation. I got that and then some. I still can’t get over how nice people are around here, which reminds me: I got into a conversation with one of the employees back in Tombstone and she told me my cousin and I were some of the nicest people she’d met from our region. I still can’t get over how nice people are. Nice feels good, so I happily do my best to be nice back. I have to combat my shyness, though. Inviting the neighbors over got my heart pumping. Striking up conversations with strangers is hard, too. I have to remind myself not to mumble and talk slower. I’m slowly getting better. I’m surrounded by a bunch of lovely people who just want to be happy and enjoy life.IMG_0267

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in happiness, life's journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doing the Tourist Thing in Tombstone, Arizona

  1. georice36 says:

    Thanks Angie…..your descriptions are marvelous. Gran

  2. Paula says:

    So descriptive and sounded like an awesome time. Mostly I am so proud that you are happy there and making friends.

  3. Gina says:

    You really make it easy to plan a trip; what great advice and descriptions. I love knowing what to expect when I’m on trips so blogs like yours are a blessing to me! Thanks for sharing your wonderful adventure.

Leave a Reply

