I’m Finally Going to be a Teacher!

20150726_075542

It’s a good thing Simon​ and I braced ourselves for a tough first year of marriage. He got laid off a month before we tied the knot, got a job right as our emergency funds ran out, and got laid off a week after I landed my first job in Arizona.

We sold stuff on eBay to help pay down our debt, his unemployment ran out shortly after Christmas but he managed to find side work that covered our half of the rent–which we could only afford because my mother moved in with us. We’ve paid off over 10k in debt so far on our modest income, and have just the car and one credit card left before tackling my stupid student loans, which have tried demanding almost 800/mo. in payments. Yeah, cue the crazy person laugh.

On top of this, I had a radioactive iodine ablation which caused my thyroid to dive into under-active mode. Staying awake for more than 4-5 hours at a time was a huge challenge during May and June. I’d sleep away the afternoon and my husband would reluctant come wake me around dinnertime so I’d make it to games on time. Thankfully, being a sports writer is a fun job, so I never dreaded going into work.

Thyroid corrected by August, the job hunt resumed. It’s taken courage since I’m afraid of not being a good enough teacher. I also loathe job hunting. It’s reduced me to tears in the past, when you’re constantly told “no” or simply never hear back, like you don’t exist. It’s horrible.

20150710_184030

But I sucked it up, Simon sucked it up, and he kept me grounded and smiling through it all. If we couldn’t find happiness when things weren’t perfect, we wouldn’t find happiness during smooth sailing.

August frayed my nerves the most. I hurt my back, and was in agony for over two weeks with sciatica thanks to a bulging disc, and it took almost a month to regain full range of motion. My job suffered and I was anything but proud of that. Attempts to find teaching positions without a certification teased me with interviewers liking me but hiring those with more credentials. I don’t blame them, though. If I were in their position, I’d take the person with a full teaching cert., too.

On top of that, one of the schools I’d applied to offered me part time work. It made me laugh and want to cry at the same time. There was the job I wanted but with a downgrade in pay.

I replied to the email, expressing interest but needing full-time pay, asked if they could work with me to achieve that, and if they had any coaching positions I could do as well.

I heard nothing–NOTHING–back. Not even a “thanks for letting us know.” And then last week, I get a phone call from Bowie (pronounced boo-ee) USD and they said they wanted to work with me to get full-time hours and have me help them start up an athletic program at their Middle School. I had to meet two other board members and sit through one more interview.

To be honest, I was shocked. The first interview was two people taking turns grilling me with questions. I’d thought I was prepared for the interview but felt more and more nervous as they asked me questions I hadn’t braced for. I felt like I did so terrible that I wasn’t surprised when they gave me a call to let me know they’d hired someone else–well, I was a bit surprised because Bowie has a whole 400 people living in the middle of nowhere with nothing but some pecan groves, but whatever.

Anyway, I felt so much more confident during the second interview. Two ladies joined the gentleman in the interview and they gave me the vibe they were eager to learn who I was and what I could offer, and I fed off that. I felt guardedly optimistic on the drive home but wasn’t in a hurry to get my hopes shattered.

20150524_121305

Fast forward to Saturday morning of August 29, a morning after a night of a puppy waking me up hourly because she felt like it and starting my day with a splitting headache and a hyper puppy, my phone rings at 8:30. The number looks familiar but Bowie didn’t plan on calling me until Monday or Tuesday…

Lo and behold! It was Bowie! After all the trials and tribulations, they offered me a job! You bet I said yes. I look forward to starting, and look so forward to Simon and I throwing down some roots and starting our marriage in earnest.

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in life's journey, success and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

