Back from Vacation

20160113_172408I worked four separate days over vacation, laying out syllabi and creating a game plan to do a better job this semester. I even rearranged the classroom so I could see every last student from my desk, even though I spend most of my time hopping from one student to the next, helping with classes. And then I had this brilliant idea I’d put in some more hours during the off days, since I ran out of time.

Hahahahahahahahaha!

I looked at my backpack a few different times, bared a few teeth, and went back to playing video games. I totally needed every last second of my break to be a break. Teachers do not have it easy. Trying to shape the futures of other peoples’ children on a weekly basis takes a looooooot of energy. Just maybe hearing the word “teenagers” is enough to drive the point home.

Lucky for teenagers and their parents, I love this age group. The middle schoolers are growing on me, too.

***

I started writing this post the week I returned to school but a combination of life being super busy and me squeezing in video game fixes while I’m still conscious have strained free writing time. There’s no reading I could’ve finished this post two weeks ago.

Anyway, lots of good news:

The Nikon camera donated to the school through Donorschoose.org finally came in. I’m super excited to have the kids use it. We’ve basically been using our phone cameras for yearbook pictures up to this point, along with a Canon camera one of my high school students owns. I’m helming this year’s yearbook project, so some proper photography is going to be fantastic.

This semester is running smoother so far. I’m doing a lot of offline work over six different classes. Yes, it’s a ton of work for me but now I finally feel like a real teacher. It’s wonderful to see students bent over a textbook, instead of trying to sneak in YouTube. Yes, we still have the latter, but teenagers + computers = YouTube. You’re going to find that in any school with online classes.

Basketball is steadily getting better. After failing to figure how to teach them aggressiveness, they lost big time to their rivals, but that game taught them a lot. They turned it around in their next game and won 38-14. They did so good a job that I didn’t have to call timeout to fix anything. They were aggressive, passed great, shot a lot, helped each other all over the court, and walked away from the game feeling proud of themselves. I couldn’t have been prouder.

My favorite news is that I’ve been hired as a ghost writer by a local who met me while working for the Eastern Arizona Courier. My client is a certified nutritionist who’s worked with high profile clients like the Miami Heat, Phoenix Suns, Miss America contestants, Kyrie Irving, and Wesley Snipes.

We are working on a historical fiction book set in ancient Babylon. It’s a lot of fun and quite the challenge but I’m really looking forward to the final product. Can’t wait until I’m able to say more about the project!

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in helping, helping students, high school, learning, life's journey, love of teaching, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

