One Quarter Left!

stay-strong

Now that all the necessary parties know, I can finally reveal that I’ll be switching from teaching to writing full time upon completion of the 2016-17 school year.

Back in August, my ghostwriting client offered me the position and I could have started in January. As much as middle schoolers drive me nuts, I couldn’t bring myself to abandon them and break my contract. It wouldn’t have morally sat well with me. Yeah, in December I sent an email saying I’d changed my mind and was desperate to get away from preteen angst, but then Christmas Break happened and that recharged my teacher batteries to last the rest of the school year. Phew!

Anyway, my client liked working with me on a book so much that now he wants me to write¬†full time for his companies. I’m super excited about it. It’s a dream job that I wasn’t expecting any year soon. I’ll come back to the school district to sub and coach though. I enjoy teaching despite how stressful it is.

Part of me wants to teach for just one more year so I can prove I can do a better job. I’ve learned so much about teaching, about myself, and about monsters–I mean kids–in general. I’m basically learning how to be a mom without having kids of my own.

sleep-e1480446522946

I’m rolling around thoughts of getting on the school board one year so I can hopefully make a positive difference and a lot of kids’ lives. I missed this week’s board meeting due to parent-teacher conferences, but at least all those went well. I even got a good laugh out of one student’s parents. They asked me what I think could be done to help their child stop talking in class so much. After moving seats a zillion times, issued detentions, and making at least one phone call home, another solution popped out of my head and through my lips before I could filter it. “Duct tape.”

Ah, if only duct tape were a viable option…

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in classroom management, love of teaching, middle school, teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

