Hopefully This Is My Last Career Change

business_cat_is_all_business_603601700.1680x0-800x450

(photo courtesy of househippo.org)

I wasn’t actively job hunting. In fact, I’d settled for a life in the education system. The plan was to keep writing on the side and hopefully build a respectable following over the decades. I’d coach sports and help shape the futures of other people’s children. You know: that realistically ideal crap. Or do I mean ideally realistic? Whatever I mean, I know it’s reality with a dose of idealism.

Anyway…

I thought life had set me up for a long, stable career in education. I’d gotten hired immediately at the conclusion of the interview, found a house to rent within fifteen minutes of asking around on a FB page, and said house was super close to campus. It all came together too easily to not be a sign.

Fast forward to two weeks into the school year and my ghostwriting client offers me a job to work full-time as a writer for his companies. My jaw dropped. The job wouldn’t start until January, once he was all moved in to a bigger facility but he was in dire need of my services.

Get paid to write and such? Heck yeah!

I kept the news between me and family, and two friends for months. I was afraid of getting laid off from teaching for already knowing I wasn’t going to return next. More importantly, I was afraid of being put under a microscope to make sure I did my job well. I wanted the higher ups to not worry. They don’t know me well enough to know they can trust me to give 100% at all times. I can’t help but give full effort. It’s one of those annoying perks of being a perfectionist. I also didn’t want the students to find out.

Part of me wishes I was returning next year so I can do a better job. I’ve learned so much about teaching, lesson planning, classroom management, and being basically a second mom to a lot of students. At least I’ll come back to sub and coach volleyball.

Coach Anderson (yes, also known as Trooper Anderson) is going to teach me how to coach volleyball. I’m finally going to learn all the ins and outs of the sport. I’ve never played it, never coached it, yet we won half our games last fall. Coach Anderson is going to be relying on me to prepare athletes for high school volleyball. I’m his only team that feeds into the high school. He’s already been taking his girls to state regularly on his own. I can’t wait to see how much better things get over the years!

So, all the important people know that I’ll only be returning as a sub next year. The kids are starting to ask me questions. All I tell them is that I will be back next year. That is true enough. Simon and I look forward to throwing down roots in Tonopah once all our finances are in order.

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in happiness, helping students, learning, life's journey, personal growth, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

