Sucked Back into Pokemon GO

0723171354

When I’d envisioned my weekend, it involved getting in a bunch of writing, like four chapters worth. Instead, I ran into a personal health speed bump that sucked hours out of my Saturday, along with enough emotional energy to reduce me to choosing to sit down and watch TV for the first time in at least a month. And when I settled in for a nice, long day of writing on Sunday, my husband dragged me into the car, phone in hand, and we ended up driving around town, playing Pokémon GO for a solid few hours. Yep, I’ve been sucked back into playing Pokémon GO.

When the game first came out, I and the rest of the world loved it. Every night, once the Arizona sun had gone down and the heat dispersed enough to be able to walk around, dozens upon dozens of people would gather at the Eastern Arizona College campus, a land overflowing with Pokéstops, gyms, and Pokémon, and clock in mile after mile of walking.

Heck, all you had to do was drive around town and you’d see car constantly pulling over for short periods of time to do something game-related. The behavior was so bizarre that several people got pulled over and asked what they were doing. And thus a nerdy, genuine response to the fuzz was born…

And a new way to get a ticket.

Anyway, I think Pokémon GO set a record for how fast a gaming fad died out. I lasted until about December. Moving from Safford to the boonies of Tonopah killed any chance of enjoyment. I even went so far as deleting it from my phone.

Long story short–it’s a pretty cool story, but maybe some other time–we ended up moving right back to Safford the next summer. To our surprise, Pokémon GO was alive and well. You STILL can’t trade and battle yet *nerd rage* but the devs have made a lot of improvements on the game.

I would have been perfectly fine with never getting back into the game but I have no regrets letting my husband suck me back in. It’s a great way to be nerds as a couple, along with a cheap way to get out of the house.

And of course he gets Lugia before I do q.q (one of my all-time favorite legendaries)

Lugia Pokemon GO

What are your thoughts on Pokémon GO? Love it? Hate it? Don’t care enough to go either way? Got any funny or cool stories surrounding the game? Leave a comment.

About Angela Macala-Guajardo

Author, teacher, soon-to-be full time writer for two companies. Also a lover life in the Arizona desert, puppy butt wiggles, and kitties purring away on my shoulder.
This entry was posted in author, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

